Our vision at Mickleton Primary School, is to develop enthusiastic, confident and resilient learners, who have the knowledge and skills they need to fulfil their aspirations as responsible citizens.

Mickleton Primary School

To become the person I need to be





For every child to develop as independent, confident and successful learners with high aspirations to achieve in mathematics. We are focused on ensuring children have a sound understanding of Maths, equipping them with the skills of calculation, reasoning and problem solving that they need in life beyond school.


Maths is taught throughout the school on a daily basis using White Rose Maths version 3.0. Our primary objective is for the children to become confident, fluent and agile mathematicians. From Early Years the children are introduced to number and calculating, and this is constantly taught and practised until the end of Year 6. The children apply these strong number skills to problems which they are able to solve with solid reasoning. These skills are taught so they are naturally transferrable to everyday life and meaningful to the children.


Differentiation is evident in a number of ways but the focus is to use pre teaching to asses. We then respond by offering support or challenge in lesson or as extra consolidation.


The school is well equipped with resources to support the teaching of Maths. Children have constant access to and are able to use a range of concrete apparatus during lessons to scaffold and extend their learning.

Monitoring of the curriculum area is carried out by the Senior Leadership Team as well as the Curriculum Lead. Regular learning walks, observations, pupil progress meetings, termly book looks, termly assessments, Insight and discussions with pupils all form part of the monitoring schedule.


Each academic year there is a maths challenge day, where an external company comes into school to run a themed day. There are also whole school competitions held internally for all children as well as external cluster events and competitions attended by children from the school.

Number facts and times tables are encouraged to be learnt at home. Home learning is supported by our subscription to Times Tables Rockstars. Each class also has a maths challenge area with relevant challenges which the children can either complete in the class or at home.


Recent developments have focused on the following areas_;

  • Embedded fluency, reasoning and problems solving in all maths lessons to match the 2014 National Curriculum.
  • Introduction of Big Maths and 99 Club to assess the progression of key number skills.
  • Ongoing internal training for Teaching Assistants and Teaching Staff on the importance of Embedded fluency, reasoning and problems solving.
  • New concrete resources purchased.
  • New teaching resources purchased to support reasoning across all year groups.
  • Subject leader training for Maths Lead.
  • Twilight sessions for teaching staff to improve teaching of maths.
  • Independent maths advisor arranged to work on a personalised plan regarding maths mastery.


If you have any further questions on the teaching and learning of Maths at Mickleton, please do not hesitate to contact the school, where a member of staff would be more than happy to assist!



Mathematics Intent